Results from Day 1 of the 9th Hockey India Junior Women National Hockey Championship 2019 (A Division)

~ Hockey Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, Hockey Haryana, Hockey Maharashtra and Hockey Mizoram win their opening pool matches ~

Kollam (Kerala), 31 January 2019: The 9th Hockey India Junior National Hockey Championship 2019 (Women) A Division kick-started here today at the Hockey Stadium, Kollam which saw Hockey Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, Hockey Haryana, Hockey Maharashtra and Hockey Mizoram secure victories in their opening pool matches of the competition.

In the first Pool A match, it was Hockey Jharkhand who produced an emphatic 15-0 victory over Hockey Coorg to start on a bright note. Goals for Hockey Jharkhand were scored by Beauty Dungdung (30′, 39′, 41′), Sushma Kumari (36′, 43′, 48′), Rajni Kerketta (52′, 54′, 60′), Captain Reshma Soreng (21′, 38′), Albela Toppo (4′), Ropni Kumari (11′), Prini Kandir (24′) and Poonam Mundu (59′).

In the other Pool A match, it was Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy who secured a 3-1 victory over Hockey Punjab. Goals for Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy were scored by Sadhna Sengar (41′), Soniya Kumre (47′) and Kanchan Nidhi Kerketta (49′) while Hockey Punjab’s only goal was scored by Mitali in the 55th minute.

Hockey Haryana started their campaign with an excellent 8-0 victory against Chhattisgarh Hockey in Pool B as Manjeeta (19′, 29′), Deepika (28′, 33′), Usha (11′), Manju Chorsiya (24′), Chetna (45′) and Simranjeet Kaur (54′).

The other Pool B match saw Sports Authority of India play out a 1-1 draw against Hockey Chandigarh. It was Hockey Chandigarh who scored first as they were awarded a Penalty Stroke in the 53rd minute which was successfully converted by Monu. However, Sports Authority of India made a comeback in the match as they scored the equalizer through Bhavani Maugulla in the 59th minute to split the points.

Pool C’s opening match saw Hockey Maharashtra defeat Hockey Gangpur-Odisha 3-1 as Captain Akshata Dhekale (14′), Gauri Shinde (35′) and Vaishnavi Phalke (55′) scored for them while it was Janhabi Pradhan (55′) who scored Hockey Gangpur-Odisha’s solitary goal.

In the other Pool C match, it was Hockey Mizoram who defeated Hockey HIM by a slim margin of 3-2. It was Marina Lalramnghaki’s hat-trick of goals (16′, 46′, 56′) which secured the win for Hockey Mizoram, while Kajal (30′) and Anita (49′) scored the goals for Hockey HIM.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here