Quarter-Final Results: 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 (Women)

Hockey Haryana defeat Uttar Pradesh Hockey 5-1 in first Quarter-Final 

Hockey Punjab beat hosts Hockey Karnataka 5-3 in second Quarter-Final 

Hockey Jharkhand overcome Hockey Odisha by 3-1 in Penalty Shootout to win the third Quarter-Final 

Hockey Maharashtra blank Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu 7-0 in fourth Quarter-Final 

Bengaluru, 21 September 2018: The Quarter-Final matches of the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 (Women) took place here today which saw Hockey Haryana, Hockey Punjab, Hockey Jharkhand and Hockey Maharashtra secure their berths in the Semi-Finals of the competition.

The first Quarter-Final saw Hockey Haryana defeat Uttar Pradesh Hockey 5-1 in an exciting match. Hockey Haryana scored twice in the opening period to take a two-goal advantage through Manpreet Kaur (8′) and skipper Poonam Rani (9′). Uttar Pradesh Hockey pulled a goal back in the 14th minute as their Captain Shyama Tidgam scored, but three goals in the closing four minutes by Hockey Haryana saw them progress to the Semi-Final match of the competition. Goals for Hockey Haryana in the second period were scored by Sonika (17′, 17′) and Amandeep Kaur (18′).

The second Quarter-Final of the competition was contested between Hockey Punjab and the hosts Hockey Karnataka which ended 5-3 in the former’s favour. It was a well-matched encounter between the two sides as the first period ended level at 2-2 with Hockey Karnataka cancelling Hockey Punjab’s lead twice. The hosts took the lead for the first time in the match as they scored in the 12th minute, but three goals in the remaining minutes saw Hockey Punjab eliminate the hosts with a 5-3 victory. Goals for Hockey Punjab were scored by Narinder Kaur (6′, 20′), Rajwinder Kaur (8′, 13′) and Pooja Rani (20′) while HR Anjali (7′), skipper Leelavathy M J Mallamada (9′) and S P Kruthika  (12′) scored for Hockey Karnataka.

The third Quarter-Final saw Hockey Jharkhand also secure their berth in the Semi-Finals as they defeated Hockey Odisha 3-1 in the Penalty Shootout after the scores were tied at 1-1 at the end of regulation time. Hockey Odisha had taken an early lead in the match as Mariana Kujur scored for them in the 3rd minute. But Hockey Jharkhand equalized in the 7th minute through Pramila Soreng, and neither team managed to score the winner in the remaining stages which meant that the match went into a Penalty Shootout. Hockey Jharkhand’s Pramila Soreng, Alka Dungdung and Simta Ming were all on target and helped their team in securing a Semi-Final spot while Mariana Kujur scored Hockey Odisha’s only goal.

Hockey Maharashtra also maintained their fine form in the competition as they defeated Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu by an emphatic margin of 7-0. Hockey Maharashtra scored four goals in the first period and backed it up with three more in the second period to secure their place in the last-four. Goals for Hockey Maharashtra were scored by Preeti Dubey (2′, 14′), Kavita Vidyarthi (7′, 8′), Sanggai Ibemhal (6′), Aishwarya Chavan (15′) and H Lalruatfeli (20′).

The results of the Quarter-Finals mean that Hockey Haryana will face Hockey Punjab in the first Semi-Final on 23rd September 2018 at 0920hrs IST while Hockey Jharkhand will play against Hockey Maharashtra in the second Semi-Final match on the same day at 1000hrs IST.


Odisha (India’s Best Kept Secret) –  Major Team Partner

Shiv Naresh


HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body having an exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, has drawn out a Long-Term Development Programme (LTDP) to train players, provide world-class infrastructure and International exposure besides regular international competition. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India is dedicated to getting our team into the top three in the world.


Odisha – the Eastern State of India – is known for its love for Hockey. The State is the proud host of the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018. The State has successfully hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, is the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2023.#tdsstar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here