Hockey India names 18-member Indian Junior Men’s Team for 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018

The team will be Captained by Mandeep Mor while Shilanand Lakra will shoulder the duties of Vice-Captain 

New Delhi, 19 September 2018: Hockey India on Wednesday named an 18-member Indian Junior Men’s Hockey team for the upcoming 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018 to be held from 6th – 13th October 2018 in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. The Indian team is scheduled to play a total of five round-robin matches against Malaysia, New Zealand, Japan, Australia and Great Britain. The top two teams at the end of the round-robin matches will face each other in the Final on 13th October 2018 whereas the remaining four teams will play classification matches.

The 18-member team will be Captained by Mandeep Mor, while Shilanand Lakra will shoulder the duties of Vice-Captain. The team includes goalkeepers Kamalbir Singh and Pankaj Kumar Rajak, defenders Suman Beck, Mohd Faraz, Somjeet, Mandeep Mor, Prince and Varinder Singh; while the midfield will be commanded by Yashdeep Siwach, Harmanjit Singh, Vishnu Kant Singh, Gopi Kumar Sonkar, Vishal Antil and Haspreet Singh. The forward line will feature Gursahabjit Singh, Abhishek, Prabhjot Singh and Shilanand Lakra.

“We have selected the team for the 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018 keeping in mind the exposure that these young players will be getting at the tournament. We will be up against some of the best teams in the youth category, and we believe that this set of players can challenge the other teams for the title in Johor Bahru. Coach Jude Felix has tried different combinations during our tour of Belgium earlier this year and during the National Camp in Bengaluru, and these 18 players have shown great ability and desire to succeed. It will be a crucial tournament for some of the athletes as this will be their first major assignment with the Indian Junior team, but I am sure that it will be a learning curve to remember for all the players which shall help in their development,” stated David John, Director, High Performance, Hockey India.

The Indian team will play their opening match against hosts Malaysia on 6th October 2018 at 18.05hrs IST.

Junior Men’s Team:

Kamalbir Singh
Pankaj Kumar Rajak

Suman Beck
Mohd. Faraz
Mandeep Mor (Captain)
Varinder Singh

Yashdeep Siwach
Harmanjit Singh
Vishnu Kant Singh
Gopi Kumar Sonkar
Vishal Antil
Haspreet Singh

Gursahabjit Singh
Prabhjot Singh
Shilanand Lakra (Vice-Captain)

Odisha (India’s Best Kept Secret) –  Major Team Partner
Shiv Naresh


HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body having an exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, has drawn out a Long-Term Development Programme (LTDP) to train players, provide world-class infrastructure and International exposure besides regular international competition. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India is dedicated to getting our team into the top three in the world.


Odisha – the Eastern State of India – is known for its love for Hockey. The State is the proud host of the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018. The State has successfully hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, is the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2023.#tdsstar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here